Happy New Year!

I’ve waited three weeks to write my New Year’s blog. 
I’ve waited on purpose. 
I’ve waited until this strategic week. 

Why this week?

This is when researchers say a third of the people who made resolutions fail. That’s right, one third of the people who made a resolution by New Year’s Eve don’t make it to the end of January. And furthermore, by this time next year only 12% will have reached their goals. 

Why is that? 
Well, you can read the experts theories online but I will attempt to respond to that question in my next three posts.

Today – Why our resolutions fall flat #1: They are often too small.

The list below may look familiar. They show up almost every year in some form or fashion for Christians and church-goers. 
– Read through the Bible this year
– Have a daily quiet time 
– Start using my gifts 
– Share your faith with someone at least once a week

Who could be against any of those? Me. And you should be too.

For we who have been made in the image of God…the ‘God who does far more than we can ask and imagine,’ small dreams, small hopes, small goals just don’t cut it. And over time we can be lulled into thinking that they do cut it.

By and large people don’t keep their resolutions not because they’re too big, but because they are too small.  

Now look at this list:
– Fall so in love with scripture that I’m drawn to it daily
– Practice the presence of God throughout the day
– Serve passionately when I encounter need
– Learn to join in the conversations the Holy Spirit is already having with the people around you

Which list stirs your heart and pulls you forward into a new year? I bet the second one does. This whole conversation reminds me of what Antoine de Saint-Exupery said, “If you want to build a ship, don’t drum up people to collect wood and don’t assign them tasks and work, but rather teach them to long for the endless immensity of the sea.”

We have broken down following Jesus into managing resources and assigning tasks and forgotten that he calls us to the immensity of life in Him.

So dig out that list of resolutions, goals, or dreams for 2014. Look it over and ask, “Are these big enough?” And just so you know I’m applying this to my life too, I will share my big goal with you. In 2014 I will start my Spiritual Direction practice. In fact, thanks to some friends much work has already taken place and we will be transitioning this blog over to a new site. The new site will also provide information about spiritual direction and scheduling appointments via Skype, FaceTime or in person. 

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

