Planes, Prayers and Parents

Yesterday I had a very small window between connecting flights and on top of that we were late. Really late. So sitting on the plane I texted a friend to pray with me that I’d make my next flight. As I literally ran from one end of Houston’s George Bush Intercontinental Airport to the other I prayed, “God pleeeeeeze help me make my connection.” God must have been chuckling about the contrast between that simple urgent cry for help and my lofty last post. I don’t hear God audibly but I had a clear sense of God ‘saying’ “I thought you wanted more than that from prayer.”

I continued to run toward gate E11, but inside I began to slow down. If I didn’t make it – it would be ok. God was with me. God was near. If I had to wait for the next plane or make alternate arrangements He would be with me there. I don’t know if that sounds silly or simplistic to you but that was my experience Saturday.

The entire episode jogged my memory of something I read in Richard Foster’s book, Prayer. He described the prayer of petition not as a lower form of prayer but as “a staple in our diet.” I think God likes to be asked. I think asking brings us closer to Him. It’s like when children ask their parents for help and handouts, puppies and ponies. Who doesn’t love when their child climbs up on their lap and simply asks, no matter how outlandish the request.

I made my next flight and even ended up in an exit row. And think God chuckled some more as a 5 year old boy kicked the back of my seat for the next two hours.

4 thoughts on “Planes, Prayers and Parents

  1. I love your honesty and I join you in the desire to make my prayer life far beyond a common platform of asks.

    Thanks for sharing about what God is doing to mold you into who he wants you to be.

Leave a Reply

