Heart Issues

I’m wrestling with this issue of “heart.” To say “follow you heart” brings one of two images to my mind. Either a pink card with a fuzzy kitten on it or a high resolution framed print of a man on a mountain peak. I wonder if this notion of living out of my heart is some middle class American luxury or truly possible…especially in light of the people I met on the other side of the world last month.

I googled “Living from your heart” and got pages of results, too many to scroll through. One of the top sites found was an amazon link. I followed that and began to pour through the amazon.com results. After several pages of books on meditation, cardio health, and how to get everything you’ve ever wanted in a few easy steps I gave up there too.

But the Bible talks a lot about our hearts. We’re instructed to guard our heart, care for our heart, and the words we speak come from our heart. It even says if we delight ourselves in God He will give us the desires of our heart.

What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Heart Issues

  1. I agree Darrel, it is hard to do but imperative for a contented life. I am job hunting after 31.5 years at my only job/career. I have put out so many resumes, applications, taken so many personality tests online. What an imperson process of being hired now days!

    Anyways, I need to delight myself in God. Thanks for the reminder.

    Once again, your blogs are so timely in my life!

    Cousin,

    Tammy

  2. I’m not a scholar but I think something that would be helpful is to know what the actual Greek/Hebrew words that are used for “heart” in the Bible mean. We often lose something in the translation…just a thought.

Leave a Reply

