Back in the USSR

Tomorrow I will be leaving for a mission trip in Kiev, Ukraine with 20 other people. Our group will be doing some construction at church and providing a Vacation Bible School for children. I will also have the privilege of meeting with some young pastors and be preaching in three different churches.

The last time I was preparing for a trip like this I was 17 years old. I was going on a mission trip to Belize with 20 other people, most of whom I didn’t know. It was my senior year in high school, the season of transition between what was and what will be. The trip was only a year after the passing of my dad and I’m sure I was still grieving that. Emotionally I felt safe but I was unsure of my future. Most of all, as I got ready to fly to Central America I had the sense that God had something in store for me, not just while I was out of the country but for trajectory of my life.

Even though those memories are 30 years and 6 months ago, the parallels to this trip are uncanny. Stepping into the unknown…check. Period of transition…check. Grieving a loss…check. Experiencing a strange mix of security and uncertainty…check. Anticipation of God doing something different in me…check.

I’ll do my best to post every day and will put up as many pictures as possible. If you are of the praying persuasion, please pray for our travels, our health & safety, that we will show God’s love, and that we would each hear from Him exactly like we need to.


2 thoughts on “Back in the USSR

  1. A prayer. . . drink deeply and pour recklessly the wine given to our good brother which raised him, and the rest of us, from the grave

  2. Shan and I will be praying for you while away. We wish the best for you as you go to do the Lord’s bidding. Take care and listen…..

Leave a Reply

